

Electoral Boundary Changes for 2022 National Election

Under the Organic Law on National and Local-level Government Elections, there are seven new Open Electorates and three name changes to existing Open Electorates.

New ward and LLG boundaries for the seven new Open Electorates are informed by the modelling by the Electoral Boundaries Commission.

New Open Electorates

Western Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Delta Fly	Balimo Urban LLG
	Bamu Rural LLG
	Aramia Gogodala LLG
	Fly Gogodala LLG

Previously all these LLGs were in Middle Fly.

Northern Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Popondetta	Oro Bay LLG
	Popondetta Urban LLG

Wards 22-28 of Higaturu LLG (from Sohe) have also moved to Popondetta Urban LLG in the new Popondetta open electorate. Wards 1-21 of Higaturu have remained in Sohe.

Previously both LLGs were in Ijivitari Open Electorate.

Morobe Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Wau Waria	Wau Rural LLG
	Waria Rural LLG

All wards from Wau/Bulolo Urban LLG have been moved to both Wau Waria (wards 9-14) and Bulolo (wards 1-9).

Wards 1-9 of Wau/Bulolo Urban LLG have been moved to Watut LLG in Bulolo.

Wards 9-14 of Wau/Bulolo Urban LLG have moved to Wau Rural LLG.

The two LLGs under Wau Waria are now Wau Rural LLG and Waria Rural LLG. The three LLGs remaining in Bulolo are Watut Rural LLG, Mumeng Rural LLG, and Buang Rural LLG.

Central Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Hiri Koiari	Hiri Rural LLG
	Koiari Rural LLG
	Vanapa Brown LLG

Previously all these LLGs were in Kairuku Open Electorate (previously known as Kairuku-Hiri).

West New Britian Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Nakanai	Hoskins Rural LLG
	Mosa Rural LLG
	Central Nakanai Rural LLG
	East Nakanai Rural LLG

Previously all these LLGs were in Talasea Open Electorate.

Hela Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Magarima	Lower Wage Rural LLG
	Upper Wage Rural LLG

Previously these LLGs were in Komo Hulia Open Electorate (previously known as Komo/Magarima).

Enga Province

New Open Electorate	LLGs included in new open electorate
Pogera Paiela	Paiela/Hewa Rural LLG
	Pogera Rural LLG
	Pogera Urban LLG
	Maip Mulitaka Rural LLG

Previously these LLGs were in Lagaip Open Electorate (previously known as Lagaip/Pogera).

Existing Open Electorates with Name Changes

Kairuku-Hiri – will now be called Kairuku Komo/Magarima – will now be called Komo Hulia Lagaip/Pogera – will now be called Lagaip

MY COUNTRY, MY RIGHT TO VOTE FOR A HEALTHY NATION

Authorised by the PNG Electoral Commission









