

Fact Sheet 4 – 2022 National Election

COMMISSIONS, COMMITTEES, AND INTERGOVERNMENTAL COORDINATION

Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC)

Boundary delimitation is the responsibility of the Boundaries Commission ("Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC)") under section 125 of the Constitution. The EBC is empowered to review the boundaries of open electorates and to write a report with recommendations to the Parliament to decide on the number of electorates and thus the number of seats in Parliament. The Electoral Boundaries Commissioner can also be empowered to review provincial boundaries by an organic law. The EBC consists of the PNGEC Electoral Commissioner, who serves as its Chair, the Surveyor-General, National Statistician, and three other members appointed by the Governor-General under the advice of the Election Commission. In 2021 the EBC was convened to conduct a review of open electorate boundaries. The EBC conducted two rounds of public consultation and inquiry. Once a report of recommendations has been prepared, the EBC submits the report to the Prime Minister, who then submits the report to Parliament for consideration.

Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates Commission (IPPCC)

The Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates Commission (IPPCC) was established by the *Organic Law on the Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates 2003* to register and provide oversight to political parties. The IPPCC also appoints a Registrar of Political Parties for a term of six years. The IPPCC consists of the Clerk of the Parliament *(ex-officio)*, the Electoral Commissioner *(ex-officio)*, the Registrar of Political Parties *(ex-officio)*, the Chairman of the National Fiscal and Economic Commission *(ex-officio)*, a representative of the National Council of Women, and a representative of the National Council of Churches. The members of the IPPCC elect one of their members to be the chair of the Commission for a period of two years. As a constitutional body, the IPPCC is not subject to direction or control by any person or authority.

Election Advisory Committee (EAC)

The electoral law provides for the establishment of an Election Advisory Committee (EAC) (s.96C). The EAC is tasked to provide recommendations and advice to the PNGEC on matters provided in the electoral law, and on any other matters relating to elections as are referred to it by PNGEC. The EAC consists of three members: the Chief Ombudsman (or nominee), a

person nominated by the Board of Transparency International PNG, and a retired judge or lawyer qualified to be appointed a judge nominated by the Electoral Commissioner after consulting the Chief Ombudsman and Chairperson of Transparency International PNG.

Inter-Departmental Election Committee (IDEC)

The Inter-Departmental Election Committee (IDEC) is a key inter-governmental mechanism to support whole-of-government cooperation and coordination for preparation and conduct of elections. The Secretary for Department of Prime Minister and the National Executive Council chairs IDEC and is supported by members that include the Electoral Commissioner, the Police Commissioner, and the Commander of the PNG Defence Force (PNGDF), among other government agencies. IDEC was convened in August 2021 for the 2022 National Election and will continue to meet to support whole-of-government coordination for the 2022 National Election.

Provincial Election Steering Committees (PESC)

Provincial Election Steering Committees (PESCs) are set up to provide valuable coordination mechanisms at a provincial level. Through the PESCs, the PNGEC and Provincial Administrations enter into non-binding Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) to define the relationship between parties and their respective roles and responsibilities. Just like in the 2017 National Election, twenty-two PESCs are anticipated to be established for the 2022 National Election, to be chaired by their respective Provincial Administrator. PNGEC has begun convening PESCs and signing MoUs with Provincial Administrations.

Provincial Awareness Steering Committees (PASC)

Provincial Awareness Steering Committee (PASCs) are sub-committees of PESCs that provide a coordination mechanism at a provincial level for voter awareness and civic education activities. As was the case in 2017, PASCs will be established in each province for the 2022 National Election. Membership of PASCs includes representatives from PNGEC (Assistant Election Manager and Provincial Awareness and Training Officer), civil society organisations, non-governmental organisations, faith-based organisations, disabled persons organisations, youth groups, women's groups, and representatives of provincial governments.

Joint Agency National Election Security Planning Group

A Joint Agency National Election Security Coordination mechanism was established in April 2021 to provide national-level coordination for security planning and information sharing. This group meets regularly, and includes representatives of the PNGEC, Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary (RPNGC), PNG Defence Force (PNGDF), and Department of Corrections.